Episode 1: Pre-Program Experience

So I got into Israel no problem. The flight was fine, I made pleasant conversation with the woman sitting next to me. Customs took literally fifteen seconds, but the bags took 1.5 to come. I exchanged money. Note to self: coins are actually valuable in Israel.

I took a taxi to the hostel. Or at least I tried to. Turns out Florentine and Levontine are two different streets. who knew? My taxi driver didn’t.The second taxi driver took me to the right place.

Met up with a close friend for shwarma lunch. Let’s call this place shwarma locale #1. I like the food here. Ate there again.

I met with my internship people, my boss seems like a cool dude. The office seems chill, and the project is interesting. Still need some testing done, but all-in-all I’m satisfied thus far.I tried to figure out where the hip davening places are in town. I met some success.

Shabbat number 1 was as expected. Let’s just put it this way, it wasn’t awful, but there’s room for improvement.

I met some people from Chicago at shul. Speaking of which, despite the Nusach being Sfard (honestly not my fave), I enjoyed the davening, rabbi/chazzan has a decent voice, he did some good tunes.

Saturday night I almost went out with people from my program, but I fell asleep. This whole jetlag thing is getting to be super lame.

Ate at a different shwarma place closer to the hostel. The shwarma plate was 13 NIS cheaper, and of similar quality, if albeit having fewer salad options. This place is Shwarma locale 2.

 

 

Leave a comment